… and that’s what it’s all about

At the moment I’m feeling like my blog resembles a little bit of a mish-mash of the old and the new, so I thought I would write a post to highlight what my plans are for it and why it started in the first place.

So why the title, you ask? Sasha Fierce has been a self proclaimed nickname that I gave myself a few years ago when I was going through a bit of a rough patch. I’ve always been known as an extrovert who beams confidence; but for a season that all changed. I remember feeling as though I was no longer confident and I struggled to speak my mind. I was blessed with a few friends and family who recognised this change and encouraged me to make some changes. After that, I decided that I wanted to reclaim my confidence and find the Sasha that I once was. It was then that Sasha Fierce became my alter ego. Every now and then, when I need a boost of confidence or just a metaphorical kick up the butt; someone dear to me will remind me that I am Sasha Fierce and I remember where I’ve come from.

Fierce is defined in a few ways, but my favourite is To show a heartfelt and powerful intensity. The idea of this really resonates with me. Not to sound morbid, but if that were written on my gravestone, I would be very happy with the life that I have lived. I like the idea to love people fiercely.

So now that I’ve got that out of the way, why am I writing and what am I writing about? Life. I know that my writing will change from time to time, depending on what season I am in. At the moment I am on maternity leave and soaking up every moment with my newborn; so I anticipate that the next while will include a lot about Mum life and all the experiences that come with that.

I also wear some other ‘hats’ which I am sure will pop up on here. So for now, I guess that sums things up.

I’d love to know, does anyone else out there have an alter-ego or nickname? Where did you get it and why?

Have a great week.

Sasha Fierce

6 thoughts on “… and that’s what it’s all about

  1. welshshortbread says:

    Hi I’m also doing Blogging101. A lovely intro! I’ll be sure to check out some of your older blog posts as well. In answer to your question, my nickname for a while was ‘midget’ (because I’m 5ft nothing) but now my friends call me ‘Smells’, which is charming. You’ve probably put it in a previous blog post, but what’s your little’uns name?

    • Sasha Fierce says:

      Thanks for your comments, you made me laugh with the term 5ft nothing. I may have to borrow that because I too, am what some refer to as a pocket rocket. I do hope you are okay with the nickname ‘smells’.

      My tiny human’s name is Sophie, and she has cheeks for days. It’s glorious 🙂

      Looking forward to reading your blog, I’m headed there now

  2. sasharoundtheclock says:

    I literally decided to check out your blog because I am ALSO Sasha and my friends also call me Sasha Fierce. 🙂 Loved your intro and hope we can be FIERCE together during this blogging 101 course! 🙂

    • Sasha Fierce says:

      Hi Sasha,
      Thanks for the comment. I’m stoked to see another Sasha with the same spelling as usually down under, it’s spelt Sacha.

      Here’s to cool names and matching nicknames *twinsies*

      Looking forward to reading more of your blog. I really like your layout. 🙂

Leave a comment